hamish-mug-shot1hamish-mug-shot-profile1

As if button eyes and lanolin content are not challenge enough, now it turns out that Lavender…yes lavender must not exit our shores.

Hamish MacColl, adopted by our community nurses granddaughter, was all set to venture to the far east to a world of giant bunnies and overgrown buttercups. He was made to suffer the indignity of an airport scan and then all furore when flower heads showed up in the stuffing. I’d forgive them for thinking he was doped to the eyeballs, I mean just look at the squiffy eyes not to mention  the complete lack of motivation. However, the customs officer was dutifully informed that the suspicious substance in the stuffing was only lavender.

But apparently, lavender mustn’t venture. If anyone can tell me why I’d be delighted to know.

So poor Hamish has had to return to gloomy Manchester and goodness knows how he’s coping.

I’m going to tell you a secret now “Hamish’s brothers have been posted EVERYWHERE!”

Ignorance was bliss!

Posted by:mogwaii

Born: 13th March 1969 in Edinburgh Star sign: Pisces Where do I live? An beautiful island called Lismore Who with? I live with my gorgeous man - Yorick, and my beautiful boys Ruben (currently 14) and Tom (10) and we also have cat poppy, cat Bashy and cat Spyro. What do I do there? Water veggies in the polytunnel, loads of mopping up, picking up clothes, cooking and washing dishes. The rest of the time I'm in a blissfull state in my studio making things out of wool and designing the next must have (in my head!) and a lot of cycling to and fro My favourite Books: Right now...empowerment books like "The power of now" and "The Secret", but also John Fowles "The Magus" and "The kite runner" and I love the "Tao of Poo" My Favourite films: Babettes feast, Wings of desire and The colour of Pomegranites. My favourite music: Bach cello suites for designing, Dolly parton for making (especially her album Little Sparrow), Teddy Thompson and loads of other stuff! What did I do before moving to Lismore? * Went to school in Edinburgh (South Morningside primary then St. Mary's music school and then George Watson's) * Went to Brazil for a year, fell in love, learnt Portuguese and spun a lot of wool * Studied foundation in visual arts in Manchester poly and then went on to study BA Hons in textiles at Goldsmith's college * Made felt hats, sold them at Camden market and then eventualy Liberties and had Ruben in the midst of it all - moved to Pathhead * Tom came along and I stopped making hats. sung lots of Jazz, taught Brazilian and samba singing, recorded an album and started singing with La Boum * Tom went to school and I set up Mogwaii * Moved here in 2006 There you go!! xx Sarah (from left) Ruben, me and Tom (from left) Ruben, me and Tom

10 replies on “Hamish MacColl detained under the influence of Lavender

  1. I love his little police ID board and profile shot for the mug shot! At least you can laugh about this crazy rule. How did your other creatures fare with the mean testing lab scientists?

  2. oh my, shouldn’t laugh, but it is quite funny!, poor hamish, he’ll be ok in manchester, it’s a good place for christmas shopping!

    i had no idea about lavender being so ‘illegal’ to ship, and i’ll bet most of ‘etsy’ doesn’t either!!

  3. I knew lavender can’t go to Australia and I’ve had to send things unstuffed so to speak. Presumably it is to do with potential insects or fungal diseases – I remember having to offload all our babybell cheeses (for 3yr old on plane) before going through customs last time we visted Australia (and I’m sure no organism could possibly survive on a babybell)
    Poor Hamish- when does he get home? Travelling canbe very tiring, especially if you never arrive.
    J
    x

  4. I’ve heard lavender can do some pretty crazy stuff. Induce relaxation and sleep, for instance. Those pilots can’t get even a single scent of this stuff!

  5. I was about to send at least one Hamish to New Zealand. Only idleness prevented this great blunder. But of course I should know that agricultural regulations there are extremely tight. Hamish could have been quarantined and affected the Gross national product all unwittingly. Phew.

  6. he does look a little shifty eyed, though. he might have said something insulting about the customs officer mom; you’re lucky they didn’t chain him up to use as an example to other stuffed critters. poor boy, the years of counseling he’s going to need now!
    i think you can perhaps have a little slip of memory; blame it on age, or hair color, or too much sun.

Leave a comment