Phew. I finally start to settle back into some sort of routine after the summer session where I felt a little like a ping pong ball in play – batted to and fro from A to B. In some ways great to camp a bit, festival a bit, explore a bit. However I increasingly started to feel the need to settleĀ  – a lot, and how better to ground myself than with the study of bluebells (harebells if you’re English) for a Roman Blind.

Sketching flowers from various angles for applique

Included with the blind was a complimentary lampshade made from the sample piece used to try out different techniques prior to making.

Tangle of stems and a flower head.

and the blind itself was much appreciated by a delightful client.

Harebell Roman blind set into the dormer window.

Next project…Sloe berry blinds x 2 and a set of curtains. So far so good.

Posted by:mogwaii

Born: 13th March 1969 in Edinburgh Star sign: Pisces Where do I live? An beautiful island called Lismore Who with? I live with my gorgeous man - Yorick, and my beautiful boys Ruben (currently 14) and Tom (10) and we also have cat poppy, cat Bashy and cat Spyro. What do I do there? Water veggies in the polytunnel, loads of mopping up, picking up clothes, cooking and washing dishes. The rest of the time I'm in a blissfull state in my studio making things out of wool and designing the next must have (in my head!) and a lot of cycling to and fro My favourite Books: Right now...empowerment books like "The power of now" and "The Secret", but also John Fowles "The Magus" and "The kite runner" and I love the "Tao of Poo" My Favourite films: Babettes feast, Wings of desire and The colour of Pomegranites. My favourite music: Bach cello suites for designing, Dolly parton for making (especially her album Little Sparrow), Teddy Thompson and loads of other stuff! What did I do before moving to Lismore? * Went to school in Edinburgh (South Morningside primary then St. Mary's music school and then George Watson's) * Went to Brazil for a year, fell in love, learnt Portuguese and spun a lot of wool * Studied foundation in visual arts in Manchester poly and then went on to study BA Hons in textiles at Goldsmith's college * Made felt hats, sold them at Camden market and then eventualy Liberties and had Ruben in the midst of it all - moved to Pathhead * Tom came along and I stopped making hats. sung lots of Jazz, taught Brazilian and samba singing, recorded an album and started singing with La Boum * Tom went to school and I set up Mogwaii * Moved here in 2006 There you go!! xx Sarah (from left) Ruben, me and Tom (from left) Ruben, me and Tom

2 replies on “Bluebell Blind

  1. gorgeous m’dear. Just about to move house here on Thursday, will be in touch when we settle on the other side xxx

  2. Just been reading your old Blogs, of course I know bagsey but we have a family one of SNUD..subject not under discussion..used when you really don’t want to talk about something i.e illness, marriage, children or why Sheila Fleet’s work is not done At the moment my new Sheffield steel knee is a SNUD.
    We had to get rid of thistles on a field after the war-yes I am that old-which the Min of Ag didn’t like, have no idea what a Grazon 90 is, we did the not very large area with Swinging Cutters, love the name, which were very sharp and like hockey sticks, who ever went in that area had to carry one and cut down the weeds as they went.
    Much enjoy reading about Lismore, one of the few islands I’v not been to on the west coast,perhaps next year. So enjoy hearing all about it and of course your lovely work, keep it up please, I can buy your things just down the hill in Solo, Sheffield, lovely shop.
    All the very best
    Anita

Leave a Reply

