Gone but not forgotten
Gone but not forgotten

My dear, dear babies. I could hardly bear to listen to the scientist as he talked me through, with far too much relish, the procedures inflicted upon my tweedie beasts. Stop reading now if you are of an at all sensitive disposition!!

Seams pulled with a force of a small rhino via crocodile clips.

Bunson burner held close to all parts for a while.

Immersed in nasty solution to test for heavy metals.

Eyes pulled with crocodile clips with a 9 kilo weight  ( small mini bus or so) for 10 seconds.

And on this last, ultimate abuse my poor tweedies finally gave up their fight to remain intact and popped. Yes they did…the eyes either split or pulled entirely out of their sockets.

So now I have a dilemma. My Tweedies are free from heavy metals, they are flame resistant, they have strong seams (bar the hand sewn bit which is now being machine sewn so that should pass), but their button eyes are a problem.

Do I give up on buttons altogether and machine embroider dots? (I personaly am not keen on this look)

Do I try to convince trading standards that   Tweedies are not toys? I reckon I’d have a battle on my hands and all the testing would be in vain.

Or do I make it so that the Tweedies do have a CE mark but are tagged not suitable for under 36 months due to small parts.

It is the latter with which I am trying to proceed and have sent two button eyed Tweedies to my local trading standards officer for assessment. He seems to think this option may be possible. I sincerely hope so since I have 16 button eyed Tweedies waiting anxiously to present themselves to the shopkeepers of this world at the Scottish international trade fair and they may not win hearts quite as effectively without eyes.

Fingers crossed everyone!

Posted by:mogwaii

Born: 13th March 1969 in Edinburgh Star sign: Pisces Where do I live? An beautiful island called Lismore Who with? I live with my gorgeous man - Yorick, and my beautiful boys Ruben (currently 14) and Tom (10) and we also have cat poppy, cat Bashy and cat Spyro. What do I do there? Water veggies in the polytunnel, loads of mopping up, picking up clothes, cooking and washing dishes. The rest of the time I'm in a blissfull state in my studio making things out of wool and designing the next must have (in my head!) and a lot of cycling to and fro My favourite Books: Right now...empowerment books like "The power of now" and "The Secret", but also John Fowles "The Magus" and "The kite runner" and I love the "Tao of Poo" My Favourite films: Babettes feast, Wings of desire and The colour of Pomegranites. My favourite music: Bach cello suites for designing, Dolly parton for making (especially her album Little Sparrow), Teddy Thompson and loads of other stuff! What did I do before moving to Lismore? * Went to school in Edinburgh (South Morningside primary then St. Mary's music school and then George Watson's) * Went to Brazil for a year, fell in love, learnt Portuguese and spun a lot of wool * Studied foundation in visual arts in Manchester poly and then went on to study BA Hons in textiles at Goldsmith's college * Made felt hats, sold them at Camden market and then eventualy Liberties and had Ruben in the midst of it all - moved to Pathhead * Tom came along and I stopped making hats. sung lots of Jazz, taught Brazilian and samba singing, recorded an album and started singing with La Boum * Tom went to school and I set up Mogwaii * Moved here in 2006 There you go!! xx Sarah (from left) Ruben, me and Tom (from left) Ruben, me and Tom

11 replies on “Retta, Lobelia and Clarris R.I.P.

  1. I too would choose the “not suitable for youngsters” angle. The other option is to make the eyes edible so that when they do come off, they melt in your mouth! 🙂 I mean, how strong are these young toddlers?!?!?!

    Keep the faith!

  2. Children have buttons on their clothes don’t they?
    The world has gone mad…..I guess you could use teddy bear eyes but I can’t see they would be stronger than a sewn on button….I think the not for small children is the way ahead… they can just suck on plastic toys which will give them cancer when they grow up…………

  3. Definitely go with not suitable for under 36 months. This whole rule is so stupid. Kids used to play with mercury and they’re fine! Honestly… I totally agree with Gigibird, all of the plastic we’re surrounding kids with is way more damaging than a teeny little button.

  4. what a great post! I sell through Not On The High Street and we have all just been told that our things must conform to safety standards. No idea about any of it at all *worries*
    Do you have to pay to have your things tested?

  5. Only in the UK… It’s such a shame as your tweedies are gorgeous! Am sure that the not for under 36 months would work…perhaps with the additional words of “and sad safety officers”?

  6. Perhaps the buttons are coming off because the thread used to sew them on is cutting through the fabric? In which case, an extra bit of tougher fabric on the inside of the eye area might solve the problem. Would not be visible eyether. (Sorry.)

Leave a Reply

