I’ve been trying earnestly to avoid this bum awful cold/flu. Most everyone on the island (apart from my kin) have succumbed in one way or another and I was feeling quite proud of myself in a “heal your body heal your life” kind of way. But alas, no amount of “I am free from all congestion and influence” affirmations could keep this humdinger at bay. It started with a bit of shivers, aches ( I suspected something was up when I just about fell asleep on a parcel at the post office) and then yesterday… snot to drown an army and all dust has been whooshed to the outskirts of my studio with vigorous and prolonged sneezing bouts and I had to curtail a telephone call with a potential Eco client when I launched into an uncontrollable coughing fit.

Hanky pile next to the sewing machine. And that was early in the day. I was just about buried in them by evening!
Hankie pile next to the sewing machine. And that was early in the day. I was just about buried by evening!

But now thanks to the wonders of echinacea and copious quantities of vitamin C I am on the mend.

So…cold done and studio consequently dusted I hurtle head long in to the next venture; The Scottish international trade fair in two weeks. My Loopy Liosach’s have now become ‘Tweedies’ because a) nobody apart from anyone on Lismore knows that one from Lismore is called a Liosach and b)It’s crap and pretentious to name anything incomprehensibly says Sarah from Mogwaii design.

No…my Hamish’s, Lobelia’s and Morags are now Tweedies. Swing tags have now been designed to cement their new generic into my conscious but I can’t show it to you now because the file type won’t publish.

However, I could use a bit of help with Tweedie character profiles. I need to write about 80 words max to fit on each tag about each character’s habits, preferences, past times etc. If anyone feels inspired to have a go I would be most appreciative. I think I’m too attached to them to be at all objective.

Here are the tweedies to go on show at the trade fair:

Clarris Monroe
Clarris Monroe
Hamish MacColl
Hamish MacColl
Morag Macpherson and her twin (with identical characters)
Morag Macpherson and her twin (with identical characters)
Seamus Monroe
Seamus Monroe
Levinia MacPherson
Levinia MacPherson
Diedre MacPherson
Diedre MacPherson

Pauline?  Pixie? I know you are both mistresses of wit and repartee …what do you reckon?

Free button brooch to those willing to give it a go (OK Pauline I know I already owe you one but this way there could be two!)

xx Sarah

Posted by:mogwaii

Born: 13th March 1969 in Edinburgh Star sign: Pisces Where do I live? An beautiful island called Lismore Who with? I live with my gorgeous man - Yorick, and my beautiful boys Ruben (currently 14) and Tom (10) and we also have cat poppy, cat Bashy and cat Spyro. What do I do there? Water veggies in the polytunnel, loads of mopping up, picking up clothes, cooking and washing dishes. The rest of the time I'm in a blissfull state in my studio making things out of wool and designing the next must have (in my head!) and a lot of cycling to and fro My favourite Books: Right now...empowerment books like "The power of now" and "The Secret", but also John Fowles "The Magus" and "The kite runner" and I love the "Tao of Poo" My Favourite films: Babettes feast, Wings of desire and The colour of Pomegranites. My favourite music: Bach cello suites for designing, Dolly parton for making (especially her album Little Sparrow), Teddy Thompson and loads of other stuff! What did I do before moving to Lismore? * Went to school in Edinburgh (South Morningside primary then St. Mary's music school and then George Watson's) * Went to Brazil for a year, fell in love, learnt Portuguese and spun a lot of wool * Studied foundation in visual arts in Manchester poly and then went on to study BA Hons in textiles at Goldsmith's college * Made felt hats, sold them at Camden market and then eventualy Liberties and had Ruben in the midst of it all - moved to Pathhead * Tom came along and I stopped making hats. sung lots of Jazz, taught Brazilian and samba singing, recorded an album and started singing with La Boum * Tom went to school and I set up Mogwaii * Moved here in 2006 There you go!! xx Sarah (from left) Ruben, me and Tom (from left) Ruben, me and Tom

8 replies on “Hachoooo!

  1. Left a comment on a post from last year, love your work. Used to be a primary HT so loved the quilt you made using children’s art. I’ll be back!

  2. Here’s hoping you cold leaves SOON! I love the names and the generic TWEEDIES – perfect!

    And I love that, somehow, I found you blog – I guess through some Etsy links (my shop is coming soon I hope) – as I’m part Norwegian and part Scotch. My eldest daughter, Megan, who is 25 today, lived and worked in Edinburgh for 6 months after she graduated from college. She worked with COSLA and they wanted to extend her visa, but the Big Guys denied it. Oh well – I love having her here to celebrate with! My best to you and good luck to you and the Tweedies @ the trade show!

  3. It’s great to see you back! Again… I’m sorry you got sick. I’m feeling that way right now. And hoping I’m not. I’m sorry all your little creatures have to be called Tweedies. That is sad that they won’t have their real names anymore. Or will they? I’m sorry Sarah, but I don’t have the wit right now to think up a description/story 😦

    I think someone thinks up some really great ones though!

  4. Oh what the hell…. it is early yet, and I haven’t finished my first cup, but maybe it will get me flowing:

    Deirdre MacPherson can be said to be proper, in a chintz and lace kind of way. Legs crossed, bright eyes that notice all, and a tendency to softly cluck if afternoon tea is not served on time, or the daily dusting hasn’t been seen to. Underneath all that proper though is a kind and gracious soul who likes an occasional cuddle, and is not averse to an off colour joke.

    OK, well, it is perhaps fair to middling, but perhaps when I wake up a bit more I can do better… it’s sure fun though…

  5. Clarris loves to swim all year round in the beautiful seas round her native Lismore. She is a Liosach and comes from a long line of Liosachs possibly stretching back to Fionn the Ugly who swam here from Benderloch where he was being bullied.Clarris is very smart but keeps herself to herself as the whole family especially Seamus are always demanding things of her.

  6. I’ve just found you through Decor8, and I had to stop in to say how in love I am with all of your delightful ‘tweedies’! *Love* the creative names and profiles, and the delicious textures as well.

  7. Morag McPhearson and her twin sister do everything together! Whether visiting the neighbor’s garden or chasing rainbows, you always see them side by side. They love carrots, spring grass and refreshing ocean breezes. On they other hand, they avoid bullies and following to closely on the tails of grazing sheep.

Leave a Reply

