I’ve done it again! Left too many days between this post and the last and can’t decide which of my pastimes and mental preoccupations to write about. So I think free flow is the only way forward.

Right now I’m particularly nervy about Ruben’s essay writing homework which he is undertaking at the last minute, in his hostel bedroom too far away for motherly assistance. This may be just as well since the last two we hammered out on the final hour of the final day of the last two weekends and with very little approval from the teacher. I took this quite personally since my involvement was huge. I wonder whether the negative comments in red had anything to do with words such as ‘ambivalence’ and ‘coincidental’ which were unlikely to have come from Ruben’s fine but 14 year old brain.

When I was Ruben’s age I was particularly awful at essay  writing. My mind would blank, I felt like a rabbit in headlights, I’d sweat and then much more important things like cleaning under the bed or taking up the hem of my school skirt would take precedence. The worst time was exams when I couldn’t escape to a more comfortable activity and had to sit in a whirrr of nerves and mental block.

Me thinks I am projecting…I will think positive thoughts and stop this worrying rant right now…he’ll be fine!

So on to activities with photographs. Well, I have been very busy in the studio with all sorts of Christmas orders which I keep presuming will stop what with the risk of dodgy Christmas post. But no, there are faithful souls still ordering on line.

button-nest-brooshes
Button nest brooches, ready to box and post to various Christmas recipients.

I’m afraid this is the only photograph I’ve taken since light at this time of year comes and goes in the whiff of a cat’s fart and forgetting to photograph in that millisecond is easily done.

While furiously sewing orders I have been listening to the most incredible music. The best for calm concentration and total tranquility in my estimation: Bach partitas and sonatas for solo violin played by Rachel Podger. I am absolutely loving it and have made it my firm resolution to learn one partita a year on my own violin. I’ve started with the second movement of Partita no1 in B minor because it’s a hell of a lot easier than the first movement with bar chords which would be hard to play on a piano let alone a violin…still,I’m  determined. This exercise is proving exacerbating and thrilling at the same time. Thrilling because I haven’t really attempted or felt in the slightest bit compelled to play violin since I was 13 years old and now, for the first time in many years I actually want to . Exacerbating because I can’t yet achieve that seamless and calming tone that turns Bach from a race to the finish line to  meditative ecstasy. Still, I’ll struggle on.

I’m aware this all makes me sound like an interfering, high brow mum with very snobbish tastes in music. In my defence, I also listen to Madonna and I’m particularly partial to a spot of Kanye West and I’m very good at completely ignoring the children to  pursue my own creative reverie.

Oh…phones ringing, better go.

x Sarah

Posted by:mogwaii

Born: 13th March 1969 in Edinburgh Star sign: Pisces Where do I live? An beautiful island called Lismore Who with? I live with my gorgeous man - Yorick, and my beautiful boys Ruben (currently 14) and Tom (10) and we also have cat poppy, cat Bashy and cat Spyro. What do I do there? Water veggies in the polytunnel, loads of mopping up, picking up clothes, cooking and washing dishes. The rest of the time I'm in a blissfull state in my studio making things out of wool and designing the next must have (in my head!) and a lot of cycling to and fro My favourite Books: Right now...empowerment books like "The power of now" and "The Secret", but also John Fowles "The Magus" and "The kite runner" and I love the "Tao of Poo" My Favourite films: Babettes feast, Wings of desire and The colour of Pomegranites. My favourite music: Bach cello suites for designing, Dolly parton for making (especially her album Little Sparrow), Teddy Thompson and loads of other stuff! What did I do before moving to Lismore? * Went to school in Edinburgh (South Morningside primary then St. Mary's music school and then George Watson's) * Went to Brazil for a year, fell in love, learnt Portuguese and spun a lot of wool * Studied foundation in visual arts in Manchester poly and then went on to study BA Hons in textiles at Goldsmith's college * Made felt hats, sold them at Camden market and then eventualy Liberties and had Ruben in the midst of it all - moved to Pathhead * Tom came along and I stopped making hats. sung lots of Jazz, taught Brazilian and samba singing, recorded an album and started singing with La Boum * Tom went to school and I set up Mogwaii * Moved here in 2006 There you go!! xx Sarah (from left) Ruben, me and Tom (from left) Ruben, me and Tom

5 replies on “Events overload!

  1. You are so busy! Those brooches look so nice! I love the layers of stitching. Sometimes, I want that look so bad! I’m excited about your new violin delight. I used to play the flute (for little over 6 months in 5th grade!) and I find myself often wishing I hadn’t stopped. I also want to learn how to play the guitar. Here’s to learning new stuff!

  2. Those brooches are so divine and sexy I want to move into them and go to sleep. Can I order a clutch of them which I will send to my entire brooch wearing family. Bach Partitas eh? You are certainly blessed to have been introduced to your fiddle at an early age and well why should we be ashamed of playing Bach and call it middle class. I’m off to look out my special edition of the well tempered clavier.Who needs therapy if you can go for a swim in Bach.

Leave a Reply

