What do you listen to when you’re making?

I’ve now had a good 6 months of back to back radio 4 and really, one can only tolerate so much babble about the habits of migrating birds or the emancipation of the flapper girl not to mention the current trend of saturating the airwaves with endless stories of economic and certain doom and the darkest gloom. Enough already!

Radio 3 is fine in small doses but why insult our ear drums with so many panicked sopranos and don’t get me started on the organ recitals. Radio 2 is OK on the weekend (apart from Elaine Page and the travesty of songs from musicals) but week days…no, no. Forget radio1, I’m past it and definitely no good for concentration.

I tried Gaelic radio for a short while, felt very worthy listening to the sing song tones and excited at the possibility that I may absorb the language as if by osmosis and maybe one day know how to respond to Duncan Laggan’s Gaelic greetings without looking like a complete twit. But no, more (a lot more) comprehension was needed to sustain my interest.

I think I may have to revert back to CD’s for a while, I haven’t played Dolly for ages and Bach cello suites are always a winner and come to think of it, where’s that fantastic Diana Krall album?

Suggestions welcome!

So today NOTS orders were attended to and here they are:

Orgy of deflated animals and a brooch
Look what happened to these guys when Linda re appeared in Ambridge.

Apologies to those American bloggers who won’t have the slightest idea what I’m on about. Quick note re Ambridge, this is the name of the fictional town inhabited by ‘The Archers’ , the longest running radio soap of all time (radio 4).

Night night folks…beauty sleep needed.

x Sarah

Posted by:mogwaii

Born: 13th March 1969 in Edinburgh Star sign: Pisces Where do I live? An beautiful island called Lismore Who with? I live with my gorgeous man - Yorick, and my beautiful boys Ruben (currently 14) and Tom (10) and we also have cat poppy, cat Bashy and cat Spyro. What do I do there? Water veggies in the polytunnel, loads of mopping up, picking up clothes, cooking and washing dishes. The rest of the time I'm in a blissfull state in my studio making things out of wool and designing the next must have (in my head!) and a lot of cycling to and fro My favourite Books: Right now...empowerment books like "The power of now" and "The Secret", but also John Fowles "The Magus" and "The kite runner" and I love the "Tao of Poo" My Favourite films: Babettes feast, Wings of desire and The colour of Pomegranites. My favourite music: Bach cello suites for designing, Dolly parton for making (especially her album Little Sparrow), Teddy Thompson and loads of other stuff! What did I do before moving to Lismore? * Went to school in Edinburgh (South Morningside primary then St. Mary's music school and then George Watson's) * Went to Brazil for a year, fell in love, learnt Portuguese and spun a lot of wool * Studied foundation in visual arts in Manchester poly and then went on to study BA Hons in textiles at Goldsmith's college * Made felt hats, sold them at Camden market and then eventualy Liberties and had Ruben in the midst of it all - moved to Pathhead * Tom came along and I stopped making hats. sung lots of Jazz, taught Brazilian and samba singing, recorded an album and started singing with La Boum * Tom went to school and I set up Mogwaii * Moved here in 2006 There you go!! xx Sarah (from left) Ruben, me and Tom (from left) Ruben, me and Tom

7 replies on “Creative accompaniment

  1. I wish we had numbered channels that were always the same. There are different channels here in every single city. And they are all awful! Sounds like you’re having radio troubles. I listen to cds a lot. Diana Krall is great! Joni Mitchell, too.

  2. BBC Radio can be enjoyed through your computer no matter where you are in the world, you can listen live or enjoy previous shows. Always good for back ground going on’s when milling around house (or working hard of course). Sadie x

  3. I find a programme mag such as comes with the Saturday paper essential as all the stations now have good stuff at various times. Rad 3 has improved hugely since they put on more jazz and “world” music but that’s on Saturday afternoon when you are probably torturing field mice and radio 4 has funny stuff at 6.30 and again you will be parentally employed by then. I am nto an expert on Rad Scotland apart from Celtic connections so yes it is a problem and I often resort to silence if no-one is prepared to make me laugh. If I am on the computer I listen to Mairi singing as I have just been doing as a reward for mending my puncture. Not much help really was I.

  4. I work from home and listen to the radio all day, every day. Like you I have tired of radio4, but on my DAB radio I now tune in to 6music saturday morning 10 – 1, was Adam and Joe, now Collins and Herring),
    sunday afternoon – jarvis cocker
    5Live Monday to thursday 2pm – 4pm Richard Bacon
    5live Friday 2-4 Mayo and Kermode
    at night on Radio2 8-10 Radcliffe and Macconie
    all of these have music except for richard bacon, which is 2 hours of intelligent, entertaining chat and guests.
    i lurve my digital radio!

Leave a Reply

