The most exciting thing has just happened, not to do with Mogwaii but I just have to tell you about it.

My sister Mairi and brother in law’s version of Auld Lang Syne has been featured in the film “Sex in the City”. I went to see it last week while in Edinburgh and just about died with pride as I listened to all four verses of the song resonating over the images during a poignant moment in the film. Click on the image left to hear the song on you tube.

Mairi and Dave set up their duo “the cast” way back in the 90’s and have released three wonderful albums ” The winnowing”, “Colours of Lichen” and most recently “Green Gold”.

Second Album

Latest Album

Recently Mairi was given the Scots Trad award of Scots singer of the year and best female musician at the live Ireland Awards. After years of steadily and lovingly honing their art the rewards seem now to be flooding in.

What’s fantastic about the Sex in the City scoop is that it is opening up Mairi’s music to an audience who would never otherwise consider Trad music as something they would connect with, and yet the song seems to be touching the hearts of many…see the you tube comments.

I just want to say how proud and honoured I am to have such a warm, astoundingly able and grounded sister who demonstrates so thoroughly in life the premise of the film: that, at the end of the day, it’s not designer labels, diamante shoes or fancy houses that give real happiness (Mogwaii products aside of course), it is love, compassion and companionship.

Well done Mairi and Dave

xxx Sarah

Posted by:mogwaii

Born: 13th March 1969 in Edinburgh Star sign: Pisces Where do I live? An beautiful island called Lismore Who with? I live with my gorgeous man - Yorick, and my beautiful boys Ruben (currently 14) and Tom (10) and we also have cat poppy, cat Bashy and cat Spyro. What do I do there? Water veggies in the polytunnel, loads of mopping up, picking up clothes, cooking and washing dishes. The rest of the time I'm in a blissfull state in my studio making things out of wool and designing the next must have (in my head!) and a lot of cycling to and fro My favourite Books: Right now...empowerment books like "The power of now" and "The Secret", but also John Fowles "The Magus" and "The kite runner" and I love the "Tao of Poo" My Favourite films: Babettes feast, Wings of desire and The colour of Pomegranites. My favourite music: Bach cello suites for designing, Dolly parton for making (especially her album Little Sparrow), Teddy Thompson and loads of other stuff! What did I do before moving to Lismore? * Went to school in Edinburgh (South Morningside primary then St. Mary's music school and then George Watson's) * Went to Brazil for a year, fell in love, learnt Portuguese and spun a lot of wool * Studied foundation in visual arts in Manchester poly and then went on to study BA Hons in textiles at Goldsmith's college * Made felt hats, sold them at Camden market and then eventualy Liberties and had Ruben in the midst of it all - moved to Pathhead * Tom came along and I stopped making hats. sung lots of Jazz, taught Brazilian and samba singing, recorded an album and started singing with La Boum * Tom went to school and I set up Mogwaii * Moved here in 2006 There you go!! xx Sarah (from left) Ruben, me and Tom (from left) Ruben, me and Tom

One thought on “A post from a proud sister

  1. Dear Sarah,I feel so thankful that you and your family have been a very important brick in my lifes puzzle.I’m still dreaming about to come over and visit you.Maybe in the coming fall?
    All my love, admiration and friendship to you and
    your family.
    xxx Dil(son) in Norway
    dilsonl@broadpark.no

Leave a Reply

