Well…I’m back! Far from the frantic pace of the big smoke and readjusting to island life.

‘Origin’ this year was  good for Mogwaii. I was showing only fashion items which, I think, increased the activity on the stand. I have a hunch that showing fashion and interiors at the same time can dilute the impact of the products somehow.

Tamson in a beret
Tamson in slate beret

The beret, once again was the top seller… especially the slate one with a pink flower. No pink flower shown here but this gives you a flavour of the beret .

You can buy these Beret’s at the online shop.

There were moments of utter chaos on the stand…hats and tissue paper everywhere, knocking over displays, but I’d much rather that than the hands off, sophisticated approach that you come across so much when showing interiors.

One of the most memorable moments in the show was when a couple of ladies in their 60’s passed by as a young girl was trying on a beret. They commented that it looked lovely on her but they were too old to get away with it. I quickly responded “absolutely not!”, “these berets look great on folk of all ages and I’m sure it would suit you” and encouraged them to try one on. They both refused  and wandered on. A few minutes later a very sophisticated lady in linen was trying on a beret. She must have been in her 60’s and looked absolutely fanatastic. It turned out the two ladies who had passed by earlier were watching. They approached me after the sale and tried on the hats. Not only did they look fabulous in the Beret’s, but one of the women realised she had a great head for hats and bought a very showy flower cloche conceding that I was right…they do look good on all ages…joy, more converts!

I’m thinking it would be good to photograph the hats on  models of all ages, I can think of a few island folk who would look great in a Mogwaii Beret…Hmm!

London life was pretty good fun although I’m exhausted by the end of a day at the show. Most of the time out was spent with Margo, which is always entertaining. Margo is about to launch her first shop. It looks beautiful, like a sherbet jewel and the grand opening will be on 1st November. Best of luck Margo…you’re doing great!

Find out more on http://www.margoselby.co.uk

Wednesday evening was spent with my wonderful landlady, Sue Arnold and family in their flat in London. Dinner was excellent of course, given that Sue makes the best puddings i’ve ever encountered! They can be sampled at her husband, Ian’s restaurant, the Popeseye Steak House in Blythe Rd, Olympia.

OK folks, I’d better get on with some work. Making a huge quilt, a commission from a friend. It has got me thinking about future quilting projects. I’ll write  more about this when I have more time, but for now…

Bye

Sarah

Posted by:mogwaii

Born: 13th March 1969 in Edinburgh Star sign: Pisces Where do I live? An beautiful island called Lismore Who with? I live with my gorgeous man - Yorick, and my beautiful boys Ruben (currently 14) and Tom (10) and we also have cat poppy, cat Bashy and cat Spyro. What do I do there? Water veggies in the polytunnel, loads of mopping up, picking up clothes, cooking and washing dishes. The rest of the time I'm in a blissfull state in my studio making things out of wool and designing the next must have (in my head!) and a lot of cycling to and fro My favourite Books: Right now...empowerment books like "The power of now" and "The Secret", but also John Fowles "The Magus" and "The kite runner" and I love the "Tao of Poo" My Favourite films: Babettes feast, Wings of desire and The colour of Pomegranites. My favourite music: Bach cello suites for designing, Dolly parton for making (especially her album Little Sparrow), Teddy Thompson and loads of other stuff! What did I do before moving to Lismore? * Went to school in Edinburgh (South Morningside primary then St. Mary's music school and then George Watson's) * Went to Brazil for a year, fell in love, learnt Portuguese and spun a lot of wool * Studied foundation in visual arts in Manchester poly and then went on to study BA Hons in textiles at Goldsmith's college * Made felt hats, sold them at Camden market and then eventualy Liberties and had Ruben in the midst of it all - moved to Pathhead * Tom came along and I stopped making hats. sung lots of Jazz, taught Brazilian and samba singing, recorded an album and started singing with La Boum * Tom went to school and I set up Mogwaii * Moved here in 2006 There you go!! xx Sarah (from left) Ruben, me and Tom (from left) Ruben, me and Tom

One thought on “Back from ‘Origin’

Leave a Reply

